Literary Salon: Perry Garfinkel

Monday, November 6, 2006

Left Coast Writers Literary Salon, 7pm

Perry Garfinkel

Book Passage, 51 Tamal Vista, Corte Madera, CA

In the tradition of JEFF GREENWALD and WES (SCOOP) NISKER, an evening with PERRY GARFINKEL is an event you don’t want to miss.

While JEFF GREENWALD treated us to spellbinding tales as he shopped for the perfect Buddha and WES NISKER filled us with wisdom and laughter as he shared pieces from his “The Big Bang, the Buddha and the Baby Boom,” PERRY GARFINKEL will share his worldwide hunt to discover the heart of Buddhism and the secrets he learned about writing and self along the way.

“As John McPhee and Paul Theroux offer lush descriptions of physical landscapes, Garfinkel surveys the internal world with equal scrutiny…Fast enough for the beach yet dense enough for the scholar’s library.”

— The Boston Globe
ABOUT “BUDDHA OR BUST” AND PERRY GARFINKEL

Why does an idea that’s 2,500 years old seem more relevant today than ever before? How can the Buddha’s teachings help us solve many of the world’s problems? Journalist Perry Garfinkel circumnavigated the globe to discover the heart of Buddhism and the reasons for its growing popularity—and ended up discovering himself in the process.

Along the way he met a diverse array of Buddhist practitioners: “Thai artists, Indian nuns, Sri Lankan school children, Zen archers in Japan, kung fu monks in China and the world’s first Buddhist comic (only in America). Among dozens of Buddhist scholars and leaders, Garfinkel interviewed His Holiness the Dalai Lama, an experience that left him speechless—almost. As just reward for his efforts, toward the end of his journey Garfinkel fell in love in the south of France at the retreat center of a leader of the engaged movement, the Vietnamese Buddhist monk Thich Nhat Hanh—a romance that taught him as much about Buddhism as all the masters combined.

In this original, entertaining book, Garfinkel separates Buddhist fact from fiction, sharing his humorous insights and keen perceptions about everything from spiritual tourism to Asian traffic jams to the endless road to enlightenment.

Check out Perry’s website to see scenes from Perry’s worldwide journey in the footsteps of the Buddha: http://www.BuddhaOrBust.com.

Read More

Literary Salon: James Dalessandro

NEXT UP AT THE JUNE LEFT COAST WRITERS(tm) SALON: JAMES DALESSANDRO,
Author of “1906, A Novel,” Poet, Screenwriter, and Documentary
film maker of “The Damnedest, Finest Ruins”
TOPIC:
MONDAY, JUNE 5, 2006 || BOOK PASSAGE – CORTE MADERA || 7PM
______________________________________

Every disaster has a story. Set during the great San Francisco
earthquake and fire, “1906”, written by JAMES DALESSANDRO, is a
page-turning tale of political corruption, vendettas, romance,
rescue—and murder—based on recently uncovered facts that
forever changed our understanding of what really happened. His
documentary film, now out on DVD, “The Damnedest, Finest Ruins,”
is a riveting documentary of the most dramatic event in American
history outside of war. Written and directed by Dalessandro, it’s
narrated by acclaimed actor Peter Coyote.

ABOUT JAMES DALESSANDRO
JAMES DALESSANDO, was the co-founder of the Santa Cruz Poetry
Festival, the nation’s largest literary event for four years and
which brought together Ken Kesey, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Charles
Bukowski, Allen Ginsberg, Gary Snyder, Bob Kaufman and musicians
like Charles Lloyd and Anthony Braxton. He has published four
books: poetry in Canary In A Coal Mine, the highly acclaimed San
Francisco murder mystery Bohemian Heart (St. Martin’s Press),
true crime (Citizen Jane), and his new novel, 1906, an epic
recreation of the great San Francisco earthquake and fire. He is
a 20-year veteran of the Writer’s Guild of America, West, and has
written the screenplays for all three of his books, including
1906, which was sold to Warner Brothers after a heated Hollywood
bidding war. He is currently writer and co-director, with
four-time Oscar winner Ben Burtt, of The Damnedest Finest Ruins,
a feature documentary about the 1906 earthquake. He is also
co-executive producer and screenwriter of Citizen Jane for Wolper
Productions and Court TV, producer and co-writer, with Lidia
Fraser, of Draconin, a trilogy of novels and animated feature
films. He teaches the longest-running screenwriting course in San
Francisco and served as the writer for the award-winning House of
Blues Radio Hour. He lives in the San Francisco Bay Area.

LOCATION DETAILS:
JUNE LEFT COAST WRITERS(tm) LITERARY SALON Featuring JAMES
DALESSANDRO
Monday, June 5 2006, 7:00 – 9:00p.m.
Book Passage
51 Tamal Vista Blvd.
Corte Madera
For Info: http://www.leftcoastwriters.com

Past speakers at the LCW Salon include TAMIM ANSARY, DANIEL
ELLSBERG, KEVIN SMOKLER, FRAN GAGE, GAIL TSUKIYAMA, JEFF
GREENWALD, DONALD GEORGE, ISABEL ALLENDE, TERRY RYAN, SUZY
PARKER, JOHN FLINN, SHELDON SIEGEL, JANIS COOKE NEWMAN, JOYCE
JENKINS, CATHY FOWLER, PAUL MCHUGH and LINDY HOUGH.

Read More

Literary Salon: Wes Nisker

An evening with Wes “Scoop” Nisker is a guaranteed good time, full of his trademark zaniness and wacky wisdom! Nisker will wax eloquent on cosmic conundrums, and talk about and read from his latest book, The Big Bang, the Buddha and the Baby Boom: The Spiritual Experiments of My Generation.

Wes “Scoop” Nisker is author of the enduring classic Crazy Wisdom and the widely acclaimed Buddha’s Nature, and is Editor-in-Chief of the Buddhist journal Inquiring Mind. For the past twenty-five years he has been both a popular San Francisco Bay Area radio personality and a nationally known Buddhist meditation teacher.

Read More
Menu