Literary Salon: Jane Juska

Monday, February 4, 2008

Jane Juska, Author of A Round Heeled Woman and Unaccompanied Women

Born in 1933, Jane Juska is an old person but a new writer. Her first book, A Round-Heeled Woman, was published in 2003, followed in 2006 by Unaccompanied Women. Before that, she taught English for forty years in high school, college, and prison. Her work has appeared in magazines and anthologies. She is working on a novel. She lives in Berkeley, California.

“Round-heeled” is an old-fashioned label for a woman who is promiscuous—someone who nowadays might be called “easy.” It’s a surprising way for an English teacher with a passion for Trollope to describe herself in the title of the memoir which followed after she placed a personal ad in the New York Review of Books: “Before I turn 67—next March—I would like to have a lot of sex with a man I like. If you want to talk first, Trollope works for me.”

The ad worked, a book came out of experience (A Round-Heeled Woman) and Juska was reborn.

Unaccompanied Women is about women Juska met on her book-tour; it is about what happened in her own life; it is about trying to find a home. Her adventures continue.

Read More

Literary Salon: Victoria Shoemaker

Monday, July 2, 2007

Left Coast Writers Literary Salon, 7pm

Victoria Shoemaker
Book Passage, 51 Tamal Vista, Corte Madera, CA

For more information: leftcoastwriters@aol.com

Victoria Shoemaker has over 30 years experience in bookselling and publishing. Her experience includes retail bookselling, book development, editing, promotion and publicity. She was co-founder of Sand Dollar Books and Bay Bridge Books in the Bay Area, and a consultant for North Point Press. She developed and ran the nationally recognized author reading series at Black Oak Books in Berkeley. She was a founding partner in Shoemaker/Handel Publicity Services. She joined The Spieler Agency in 1994 as the West Coast representative. Areas of interest include environment and natural history, popular culture, memoir, photography and film, and literary fiction.

Present and past clients include Wendell Berry, Gary Paul Nabhan, Peggy Knickerbocker, Kate Horsely and Linda Watanabe McFerrin.

Read More

Literary Salon: Jan Yanehiro

Monday, April 2, 2007 7pm
Book Passage – CORTE MADERA || 51 Tamal Vista Dr. || Corte Madera
For Info: Book Passage or leftcoastwriters@aol.com

Broadcast journalist and Emmy-winner, Jan Yanehiro has skydived with the Army’s Golden Knights and ventured up a frozen waterfall!all in the name of getting a good story! Jan pioneered the magazine format on television as co-host of Evening Magazine, a nightly program in San Francisco from 1976-90.

Now the president of her own Media and Marketing firm, Jan still hosts shows and emcees events for community causes on a regular basis. Her new book, This Is Not the Life I Ordered, 50 Ways to Keep Your Head Above Water When Life Keeps Dragging You Down , which she co-authored with State Senator Jackie Speier, Deborah Collins Stephens, and Michealeane Cristini Risley, contains the stories, lessons and wisdom these four women shared during their monthly meetings as they faced extraordinary life challenges.

A paragon of courage, Jan lost her first husband to brain cancer. She is now remarried with a beautifully blended family which includes five very accomplished children. Awarded many professional honors including the Eleanor Roosevelt Humanitarian Award from the United Nations of San Francisco, Jan is also an inductee of the Academy of Television and Radio Hall of Fame. She sits on many boards including The Bank of Marin, Kristi Yamaguchi’s Always Dream Foundation and USF’s Center For The Pacific Rim.

To learn more about Jan and Is Not the Life I Ordered, check out their blog: simplyfourwomen.blogspot.com

NEXT UP AT THE SALON
May, 2007 Salon: Gerald Sindell – publishing consultant and founder of Thought Leaders,
Intl.

June, 2007 Salon: Michele Rivers – artist, visionary and author of “Time for Tea”

Read More

Literary Salon

Monday, June 4, 2007

Left Coast Writers Literary Salon, 7pm

Book Passage, 51 Tamal Vista, Corte Madera, CA

For more information: leftcoastwriters@aol.com

Read More

Literary Salon: Brian Tacang

Monday, March 5, 2007

Left Coast Writers Literary Salon, 7pm

Brian Tacang, Author

“Bully-Be-Gone” from the Misadventures of Millicent Madding series

Book Passage, 51 Tamal Vista, Corte Madera, CA

For more information: leftcoastwriters@aol.com

Read More

Literary Salon: Dianne Jacob

Monday, February, 5, 2007

Left Coast Writers Literary Salon, 7pm

Dianne Jacob, Author

“Will Write For Food”

Book Passage, 51 Tamal Vista, Corte Madera, CA

For more information: leftcoastwriters@aol.com

Read More

Literary Salon: Amy Rennert

Monday, January 8, 2007

Left Coast Writers Literary Salon, 7pm

Amy Rennert, Agent

Amy Rennert Literary Agency

Book Passage, 51 Tamal Vista, Corte Madera, CA

For more information: leftcoastwriters@aol.com

Read More

Literary Salon: Perry Garfinkel

Monday, November 6, 2006

Left Coast Writers Literary Salon, 7pm

Perry Garfinkel

Book Passage, 51 Tamal Vista, Corte Madera, CA

In the tradition of JEFF GREENWALD and WES (SCOOP) NISKER, an evening with PERRY GARFINKEL is an event you don’t want to miss.

While JEFF GREENWALD treated us to spellbinding tales as he shopped for the perfect Buddha and WES NISKER filled us with wisdom and laughter as he shared pieces from his “The Big Bang, the Buddha and the Baby Boom,” PERRY GARFINKEL will share his worldwide hunt to discover the heart of Buddhism and the secrets he learned about writing and self along the way.

“As John McPhee and Paul Theroux offer lush descriptions of physical landscapes, Garfinkel surveys the internal world with equal scrutiny…Fast enough for the beach yet dense enough for the scholar’s library.”

— The Boston Globe
ABOUT “BUDDHA OR BUST” AND PERRY GARFINKEL

Why does an idea that’s 2,500 years old seem more relevant today than ever before? How can the Buddha’s teachings help us solve many of the world’s problems? Journalist Perry Garfinkel circumnavigated the globe to discover the heart of Buddhism and the reasons for its growing popularity—and ended up discovering himself in the process.

Along the way he met a diverse array of Buddhist practitioners: “Thai artists, Indian nuns, Sri Lankan school children, Zen archers in Japan, kung fu monks in China and the world’s first Buddhist comic (only in America). Among dozens of Buddhist scholars and leaders, Garfinkel interviewed His Holiness the Dalai Lama, an experience that left him speechless—almost. As just reward for his efforts, toward the end of his journey Garfinkel fell in love in the south of France at the retreat center of a leader of the engaged movement, the Vietnamese Buddhist monk Thich Nhat Hanh—a romance that taught him as much about Buddhism as all the masters combined.

In this original, entertaining book, Garfinkel separates Buddhist fact from fiction, sharing his humorous insights and keen perceptions about everything from spiritual tourism to Asian traffic jams to the endless road to enlightenment.

Check out Perry’s website to see scenes from Perry’s worldwide journey in the footsteps of the Buddha: http://www.BuddhaOrBust.com.

Read More
Menu
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!