Literary Salon: Amy Rennert

Monday, January 8, 2007

Left Coast Writers Literary Salon, 7pm

Amy Rennert, Agent

Amy Rennert Literary Agency

Book Passage, 51 Tamal Vista, Corte Madera, CA

For more information: leftcoastwriters@aol.com

Read More

Reading Series

Monday, November 13, 2006

Left Coast Writers Reading Series, 6pm

Anita Jones-Roehrick, Mardi Louisell

Book Passage, Ferry Plaza, San Francisco, CA

Read More

Literary Salon: Perry Garfinkel

Monday, November 6, 2006

Left Coast Writers Literary Salon, 7pm

Perry Garfinkel

Book Passage, 51 Tamal Vista, Corte Madera, CA

In the tradition of JEFF GREENWALD and WES (SCOOP) NISKER, an evening with PERRY GARFINKEL is an event you don’t want to miss.

While JEFF GREENWALD treated us to spellbinding tales as he shopped for the perfect Buddha and WES NISKER filled us with wisdom and laughter as he shared pieces from his “The Big Bang, the Buddha and the Baby Boom,” PERRY GARFINKEL will share his worldwide hunt to discover the heart of Buddhism and the secrets he learned about writing and self along the way.

“As John McPhee and Paul Theroux offer lush descriptions of physical landscapes, Garfinkel surveys the internal world with equal scrutiny…Fast enough for the beach yet dense enough for the scholar’s library.”

— The Boston Globe
ABOUT “BUDDHA OR BUST” AND PERRY GARFINKEL

Why does an idea that’s 2,500 years old seem more relevant today than ever before? How can the Buddha’s teachings help us solve many of the world’s problems? Journalist Perry Garfinkel circumnavigated the globe to discover the heart of Buddhism and the reasons for its growing popularity—and ended up discovering himself in the process.

Along the way he met a diverse array of Buddhist practitioners: “Thai artists, Indian nuns, Sri Lankan school children, Zen archers in Japan, kung fu monks in China and the world’s first Buddhist comic (only in America). Among dozens of Buddhist scholars and leaders, Garfinkel interviewed His Holiness the Dalai Lama, an experience that left him speechless—almost. As just reward for his efforts, toward the end of his journey Garfinkel fell in love in the south of France at the retreat center of a leader of the engaged movement, the Vietnamese Buddhist monk Thich Nhat Hanh—a romance that taught him as much about Buddhism as all the masters combined.

In this original, entertaining book, Garfinkel separates Buddhist fact from fiction, sharing his humorous insights and keen perceptions about everything from spiritual tourism to Asian traffic jams to the endless road to enlightenment.

Check out Perry’s website to see scenes from Perry’s worldwide journey in the footsteps of the Buddha: http://www.BuddhaOrBust.com.

Read More

Book Launch: Adina Sara

Wednesday, November 15, 2006

Left Coast Writers Book Launch, 5:30pm

Adina Sara

Monticello Inn, 121 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA

Left Coast Writers® Launch Left Coast Writer Adina Sara’s New Book, 100 Words per Minute: Tales from Behind Law Office Doors, at SF’s Monticello Inn on November 15
Left Coast Writers® will hold its next event in the Left Coast Writers Book Launch Series at The Monticello Inn, San Francisco’s finest literary hotel, on Wednesday, November 15, 5:30pm-6:30pm. We are celebrating Left Coast Writer member Adina Sara’s book, 100 Words per Minute: Tales from Behind Law Office Doors.  Adina will read from her book and answer questions about its genesis, content, and process.
This free-of-charge evening includes a complimentary wine reception, held in the Inn’s library.  The book will be available onsite for purchase and signing.  The Book Launch Series is part of the Monticello Inn’s ongoing Wednesday Book Reading Series, and presents Left Coast Writers members’ new book-length works in various genres, including general nonfiction, travel writing, short stories, erotica, novels, poetry, nature writing, and memoir.
About 100 Words per Minute—Tales From Behind Law Office Doors:

Author Adina Sara presents an intimate look inside the quirky world of law offices. The stories of tyrant and tired litigators along with their devoted, though sometimes devious, secretaries come alive in a series of stories punctuated by quick poetic jabs. The author’s career spans over twenty-five years of law office work, from naïve clerk typist to stressed-out secretary and finally to slightly elevated but no less conflicted office manager. “The hook of my connection to legal work was so gentle that I never noticed when it actually went in, twisted, and then lodged itself for the remainder of my working years.” Weaving humor and pathos together, 100 Words per Minute takes a hard look back at the author’s unintentional career in the legal field, offering a raw perspective on uncelebrated office workers whose stories are rarely told. Â
About Adina Sara:
Adina Sara has published two poetry books: To Be Filed, The Poetry of Office Work, and Garden Grown, inspired by all the mistakes she has made in her garden. Her short fiction, essays and poetry have appeared in Peregrine: Journal of Amherst Writers & Artists, Oxygen Press, Cottage Gardener, East Bay Express, and Green Prints Magazine. She lives in Oakland, California, where she writes a feature gardening column for the MacArthur Metro, “The Imperfect Gardener.“  Â

Â

Â

Read More

Reading Series

Monday, October 9, 2006

Left Coast Writers Reading Series, 6pm

Lissa Rovetch, Pamela Bass, Jasmine Darznik

Book Passage, Ferry Plaza, San Francisco, CA

Read More
Menu
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!