Book Launch: Simplie Indie Authors

LEFT COAST WRITERS BOOK LAUNCH: Connie A. Walker, Author of The Spire of Skylet and David R. Christensen, Author of The Mystery of the Ugly Bottle





Connie Walker


David Christensen

Saturday, July 10, 2010 || 7pm
Book Passage-Corte Madera || 51 Tamal Vista Dr.
Corte Madera ||

Bring the kiddies. Please join us for a delightful night of wine and juice and great readers as Left Coast Writer’s Simplie Indie publisher, Bill Walker, takes the stage with two of his authors.

Connie A. Walker always planned on being a writer when she grew up. When she was seven years old, she won her first writing contest with a short story called “Stop, Look, and Listen.” It was about a dog who acted as a crossing-guard, which is an example of her early interest in fantasy. She attended the University of Utah and earned a Bachelor of Science degree in psychology and a Master’s degree in social work. She has been a foster care caseworker, a psychotherapist, and a clinical programs manager. Her children’s book, Timmy and the K’nick K’nocker Ring, is a fantasy about a young boy who is transported to a world where his special talents are considered magic.

The Spire of Kylet, a young adult fantasy, is the first book in The Wolkarean Inscription Trilogy. Katrine is a fifteen year old girl who thinks she has her life all planned out, but discovers fate has something different in mind for her. The second and third books in the trilogy, The Eyes of Landor and Triumph at Serpent’s Head, will be available in 2011. Connie is currently working on a second Wolkarean trilogy.

David R. Christensen first pictured himself as an author when, for a class in college, the assignment was to select ten topics from a list of about fifty and write a paragraph about each. He chose to weave more than a dozen of these topics into a short story. While pursuing a career as an engineer, he developed ideas suitable for children’s books. One of his first ideas evolved into his first book, Tivoli’s Christmas, published in 2008.

His next idea developed into, The Mystery of the Grinning Buddha, the first in a series entitled The Millerville Mysteries, which was published in 2009. This mystery series is geared to the 8 to 12 year olds. The Mystery of the Ugly Bottle was published in 2010. Shortly after a devastated hurricane hits the Gulf Coast, Jeremy’s father is reported missing. A few days later a package appears on the porch of the Miller Bungalow.  In the package is a bottle which contains notes from Father to the members of the Miller family. The contents of the notes make it apparent that the boat Father is on may sink at any time. The third book in the series, The Mystery of the Haunted Lighthouse, is in work.